Chryssa Kouveliotou

Chryssa Kouveliotou

Professor of astrophysics, George Washington University and director, Astronomy, Physics, and Statistics Institute of Sciences (APSIS), George Washington University

Chryssa Kouveliotou is an affiliate scientist of NASA’s Swift and Fermi GBM missions, and she is the science team chair of the Transient Astrophysics Observatory on the International Space Station (TAO-ISS). In 2015, she retired as a senior scientist of high-energy astrophysics at NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center. She has been the principal investigator of numerous research projects in the U.S. and in Europe, winning over $4 million in grant support. She is a founding member of multiple scientific collaborations worldwide and has served on more than 20 Ph.D. committees in the U.S. and internationally. Kouveliotou has 462 refereed publications and coedited three books. She has received the Descartes, Rossi, and Heineman Prizes and a decoration as a Commander of the Order of the Honor by the Greek government. She is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Dutch Royal Academy, and the Greek National Academy. She obtained her Ph.D. from the Technical University of Munich and two honorary doctorates from the University of Amsterdam and the University of Sussex.



Brought to you by